The State of South Carolina requires all private investigators to have a license. To obtain a license, you must be at least 18 years old and have at least two years of experience. In addition, you must post a surety bond.
What powers do private investigators have?
Licensing is handled by the South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division (SLED). It provides a website with licensing information and application forms.
Before applying for a license, south carolina private investigator must submit a criminal background check. They also must complete approved training courses. You can take these courses online, at your local bar association, or through a PI association conference. After completion of the training, you may be able to use the course to meet continuing education requirements.
There is a limited reciprocity agreement between South Carolina and North Carolina. This means that licensed private investigators in either state may continue their investigations in the other state for a limited period. However, any violations or pending criminal charges in one state can prevent the other state from licensing you.
Private investigators in South Carolina must adhere to a strict code of conduct. In addition, they must be self-motivated and have a strong work ethic. Also, they must have a background in covert field surveillance.
Private investigators in South Carolina must be able to provide detailed written reports on the results of their investigations. They also must be able to contact local agencies if necessary.
Private investigators are required to carry a concealed weapon. However, a concealed weapons permit must be renewed after a year. Licensees must have at least 12 hours of continuing education credits in order to renew their concealed weapons permits.